Slap Of Reality

No songs for this band.

Slap of Reality is a melodic punk/hardcore band from Tampa, Florida. Forming in late 1987, Slap of Reality were one of the pioneers of the melodic hardcore sound. The band went to release 2 full length LPs, 3 EPS and 2 US tours, sharing the stage with such acts as 7 Seconds, Slapshot, Fugazi, Jawbox, MDC, Samiam, and The Goo Goo Dolls. The band developed a strong following. Kevin Seconds, frontman for 7 Seconds, signed Slap of Reality to his Pazzafist Records label, which led to indie giants Headhunter Records (Rocket From The Crypt, Big Drill Car) signing the band to a record deal. The band broke up in 1992, with members going on to other legendary bands such as Failure Face, Balance, Paineater, Scrotum Grinder, Hankshaw, and later on Murder-Suicide Pact, and The Sophomore Effort, The band reformed in 1995, when major label Elektra Records interest in the band peaked. The band relocated to NYC, before going dormant once again in 1996. The band has once again fired up full speed, releasing a new single ("Never Far"), and working on a new, full length LP.